Okudzeto Ablakwa resigns from Parliament’s Appointments Committee

The North Tongu MP, Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, has resigned from Parliament’s Appointments Committee.

In a letter dated March 30, addressed to the Speaker, Alban Kingsford Bagbin, he explained that this was “after days of careful reflection and thoughtful considerations.

He delivered the letter to the Speaker, Alban Bagbin and the Minority Leader, Haruna Idrissu on Tuesday night.

The exact reason for his resignation is not yet known however he says the decision is personal and based on principle.

Describing the resignation as a “difficult” decision, he said he took the step after “careful reflection and thoughtful considerations.”

The North Tongu legislator added that he will not be available for the vetting of President Akufo-Addo’s yet-to-be-announced deputy ministerial nominees.

“My resignation is with immediate effect and therefore, I shall not be available for the vetting of nominees for Deputy Ministerial positions,” a part of his letter read.

Saga of Minority MPs on Appointments Committee

The NDC MPs on the Appointments Committee led by Ranking Member and Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu have been lauded for taking the first batch of President Akufo-Addo’s ministerial nominees through a no holds barred vetting process.

The Minority MPs were at their probing best when nominees like the National Security Minister, Albert Kan Dapaah; Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Godfred Dame; Information Minister, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah; Communications Minister, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful; Fisheries Minister, Mavis Hawa Koomson; Lands Minister, Samuel Abdulai Jinapor among others appeared before them.

There was skepticism by the NDC MPs on the Committee regarding some of the answers given by some nominees.

The NDC MPs in a report explained reasons why they could not pass some nominees like the Information, Fisheries and Agric Ministers.

Eventually, the said Ministers were passed after a vote on the Floor of Parliament.

Many political analysts were shocked as some NDC MPs voted to approve the same nominees their representatives on the Committee had raised issues about.

Angry members of the opposition NDC flayed their members on the Appointments Committee as well as the leadership of the party in Parliament including the Speaker.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Enable Notifications    OK No thanks