2020 polls: EC disqualifies 5 presidential aspirants

The Electoral Commission has disqualified 5 presidential aspirants out of the 17 that filed their nominations.

The affected aspirants are Kofi Koranteng, an independent candidate , Marrick Kofi Gane, an Independent candidate, Akwesi Odike of the United Progressive Party (UPP), Kwasi Busumuru of the People’s Action Party (PAP) and Nana Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP)

This comes after a thorough scrutiny of the nominations forms by the EC’s IT team and technical teams.

The EC Chairperson, Mrs Jean Mensa made this known at the ‘Let the Citizens Know’ Series’ held in Accra on Monday to announce the outcome of filing of nominations for the presidential and Parliamentary elections.

In all, the presidential aspirants that submitted their forms include Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), John Dramani Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), David Apasera of the People’s National Congress (PNC), Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party (CPP), Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an Independent Candidate and Mrs. Bridgete Dzorgbenuku of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP).

The others are Christian Kwabena Andrews of Ghana Union Movement (GUM), Maame Akua Donkor of Ghana Freedom Party (GFP), Nana Konadu Agyemang-Rawlings of National Democratic Party (NDP), Kofi Koranteng Independent candidate, Hassan Ayariga of All People’s Congress (APC) and Dr. Henry Lartey of Great Consolidated People’s Party (GCPP)
Kofi Akpaloo of the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG), Akwasi Addai Odike of the United Progressive Party (UPP), Kwasi Busumuru of the People’s Action Party (PAP), Nana Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP) and Marricke Kofi Gane also an independent candidate.

However, at the end of a thorough checks, the EC announced the qualifiers in order of those who filed according to the time they filed the forms.

1, Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, has been cleared to contest the 2020 presidential elections after rectifying issues and correcting issues.

2, President Nana Akufo-Addo has also been cleared.

3, Christian Kwabena Andrew’s, no IT issues, but other issues were resolved and has been cleared.

4, Bridget Djokpenuku, satisfied all requirements and has been cleared.

5, Former President John Dramani Mahama, no issues detected and has been cleared.

6, Akua Donkor, no IT issues, but repeated number of ID Cards, however, technical issues has been resolved and she quakifies.

7, Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings, no IT issues, technical issues were resolved.

8, Kofi Koranteng, the EC identified that 19 persons who support the CPP also supported Kofi Koranteng. The CPP wrote to EC that their supporters had endorsed Kofi Koranteng, the EC also noticed that
signatures of the supporters were fake amongst others and therefore been disqualified.

9, Hassan Ayariga, no IT issues, others.

10, Ivor Greenstreet, no technical issues, 19 also endorsed Kofi Koranteng, but have been cleared to contest.

11, Henry Herbert Lartey, no IT issues and.

12, Kofi Gane, no IT issues, a number of signatures followed the same pattern of fake signatures and therefore he is disqualified.

13, Akwesi Odike, no IT issues, but handwriting of the supporters were similar, signatures were also fake and has been disqualified.

14, Kwesi Busumuru, no IT issues, but failed to provide supporters in Accra, some were not registered voters. Same persons had different signatures, also disqualified.

15, Mr Agyenim Boateng, no IT issues; three supporters denied endorsing him, and also had fake signatures hence disqualified.

16, Kofi Akpaloo; no IT issues, supporting voters were not registered, but candidate resolved the technical issues.

17, David Apesera, no IT issues; some supporting voters were not eligible voters but resolved the issues and going through the process.


Source: Ghananest.com

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Enable Notifications    OK No thanks